Vitamin B12

By John Crowley Added at October 4, 2010 Views 2,108 Reviews 11

A water soluble vitamin with a key role in the normal functioning of the brain and nervous system, and for the formation of blood. It is one of the eight B vitamins. It is normally involved in the metabolism of every cell of the human body, especially affecting DNA synthesis and regulation, but also fatty acid synthesis and energy production.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (11 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
Turtle
Turtle September 17, 2011 at 4:08 pm   

Thank you for the info John. I have some vit b-12. I will start taking it and see if I feel better.

Trudie Ann
Trudie Ann June 5, 2011 at 2:55 am   

I take B-12 over the counter,100mg. I have been taking it for approx 10 years. One a day in the morning. When I got the shingles this last Christmas my Dr told me to also take B Complex, along with the prescriptions that I had to take for the shingles,but now I don't have to take the B Complex any more..

jcschrum
jcschrum June 1, 2011 at 7:41 am   

I have B12 deficiency. My body doesn't absorb it properly. I give myself B12 injections every month and it does help.

cherylready1964
cherylready1964 March 5, 2011 at 11:52 pm   

If anyone is taking B-12 OTC what dosage are you takiing? I looked at them at the store and there is so many dosages out there. Also, does anyone know how you can get the injectable OTC, or is it even available OTC?
Thanks in advance for any help!

PandorasPandemonium
PandorasPandemonium February 20, 2011 at 9:54 am   

I understand your frustration with doctors in general. Maybe it is time to find a different doctor in another office. I usually ask my family and friends for opinions and referances.

kittenpurr1
kittenpurr1 February 19, 2011 at 11:45 pm   

My body won't absorb the pills, so I was getting the injections at my former doctors office, he left the practice, so I had lots of problem find a doctor, doctor shopping is rough. Still, there's these fool P.A. that think, it's all in our head, and it's something they say is wrong with us when the doctor really doesn't know. I said, "Strange, it came from the office you are working in right now." He shut up in a hurry, pretty soon after being a pateint there for over 2 years, my PA left, he had been with them for 10 years, been in the fiield 22 years, More and more of the people from that office is leaving. Stupid P.A.s' don't even know he was talking trash about whom he was working for. He needs to go back home to his 3rd workd country, and learn Americans don't just make this up. He refused to give me any meds, he told me to come back in a week to get my shot, then I went back, and He said, he didn't give shots. I needed a foot doctor, they ran the podiarist off, too. Now, no one works there with any ssense.

PandorasPandemonium
PandorasPandemonium February 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm   

Vitamine B-12 is the first thing my doctor prescribed me when I was initially diagnosed. I have inquired about the injections, but he tells me that I don't need them.

petals
petals February 19, 2011 at 11:38 am   

When my vitamin B12 was low I felt tired all the time. Now that I take it daily and it's normal agan, I have alot more energy.

linniede
linniede February 18, 2011 at 5:12 am   

The Monthly B-12 Injections help me too.
Wondering if B-12 OTC pills would help also?

Mrs. Lina
Mrs. Lina January 25, 2011 at 7:03 pm   

The injections are helping me.

John Crowley
John Crowley October 4, 2010 at 6:51 pm   
Pros

• Improves energy
• Improves alertness and concentration