TENS

By John Crowley Added at October 4, 2010 Views 2,292 Reviews 17

Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (acronym TENS) is the use of electric current produced by a device to stimulate the nerves for therapeutic purposes. TENS by definition covers the complete range of transcutaneously applied currents used for nerve excitation although the term is often used with a more restrictive intent, namely to describe the kind of pulses produced by portable stimulators used to treat pain.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (17 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
Dodiekipp
Dodiekipp September 8, 2016 at 12:09 pm   

Have had treatments at chiropractor but can't afford that anymore how much is a personal one and how do you get one my bcbs through husbands work prescription plan only works at Kroger pharmacy so limited on that can some one help me

achey
achey February 8, 2013 at 3:13 pm   

I've used TENS for decades. Helps my back pain when I use it every day and improves sleep if I use it for 30 minutes before bedtime. I've replaced mine about 5 times because I can't live without it. Better than meds - no side effects.

LAWoman63
LAWoman63 March 23, 2012 at 12:45 am   

I currently use a TENS unit for pain management. It does very well for me at this time and also have one for dealing with my TMJ. After using other options this is one I have when I dont wont pain meds or dealing with the ER for acute pain relief.

Anonymous
Anonymous January 12, 2012 at 10:27 pm   

Does anyone know if medicad would pay for this?

countrygal2345
countrygal2345 October 9, 2011 at 3:53 pm   

I have a Tens unit and it seems to be great for muscle spasms in my back. It also sometimes helps my rls.

Cons; It is nearly impossable to use when you live alone, at least on the back.

tnova
tnova September 27, 2011 at 11:54 am   

tnova I just got the TENS unit which was prescribed by my pain clinic dr. It was covered by my Blue Cross insurance. I probably need to be more viligant about using it daily. It hasn't helped all that much, but I think I need to give it more time!

zazu
zazu June 3, 2011 at 11:53 am   

This has always made me worse Not everyone can tolerate the same treatments. or therapy

jcschrum
jcschrum June 1, 2011 at 7:37 am   

I receive this treatment when I get physical therapy and it does help. I wish they would turn it up higher. Does the setting make a difference?

1cookie :)
1cookie :) May 28, 2011 at 1:52 am   
Edited May 28, 2011 at 1:53 am by 1cookie :)

I got mine about 20 years ago..it helped me get through collage and my workday when I am unable to use pain pills…very helpful for me..

I wish I could remember how to adjust all of the settings on it…My Physical Theropist did all that for me many years ag

kimod1013
kimod1013 April 28, 2011 at 7:50 pm   

I bought mine on the internet from a medical supplier. I order my patches from them. If you googled the name of your machine and ask for patches I know you could order online I bet!

I have only used mine on my back. I worked for a ortho surgeon and I know they used to prescribe for legs. You'd have to google or get info from a doctor since I can't answer that????

morningsunshine
morningsunshine April 28, 2011 at 5:22 pm   

I'm glad to hear that. I was prescribed one but have never done anything about it. Thanks for sharing!

msbsgblue
msbsgblue April 28, 2011 at 4:35 pm   

Tell me more, I am not too familiar with it. Can you use it anyplace on the bady?

kimod1013
kimod1013 April 28, 2011 at 4:05 pm   

I bought a TENS unit about 2 years ago. LOVE IT! When I am hurting so bad and nothing is working I get hooked up and it seems to break the pain cycle. It totally relaxes the back spasms. It didn't get rid of them but it truly helped for awhile!

linniede
linniede February 18, 2011 at 5:49 am   

The TENS unit has become smaller and more comfotable to use over the years. It takes awhile to get used to the pulse intensity needed to help with pain, but once the correct adjustment is found, is very effective for pain relief. It enables me to function fairly normally.
Pulse intensity may easily be adjusted as needed, but I find it hard to find the patches that attach to the unit.

Dottie's World
Dottie's World February 6, 2011 at 9:05 pm   

I have a TENS unit. Does it relieve muscle spasms or intensify them? I haven't tried using it when I have a flare.

susieqty
susieqty November 20, 2010 at 8:29 pm   

TENS is great! As long as I do it every-other-day, as the electricity builds up, have to "ground" for a day - and let the earth take out my electricity. Works!

John Crowley
John Crowley October 4, 2010 at 6:48 pm   
Pros

• Effective for relief of muscle pain

Cons

• Doesn't treat all pain associated with Fibromyalgia