Gabapentin/Neurontin

By countrygal2345 Added at October 8, 2011 Views 2,177 Reviews 10

used to treat several conditions associated with nerves/neuropathy/trigeminal neuralgia/fibromyalgia

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (10 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
MaggyBunny
MaggyBunny November 3 at 12:06 pm   

I've been taking gabapentin for a few years, my Dr just started to increase the dosage because it's no longer helping with the pain and nerve flair ups. My mobility has been decreasing significantly and I need a cane to walk beyond short distances now.

MeMousey
MeMousey October 21, 2015 at 3:09 pm   

I was not able to take this. When they put me on it I started having full body tremors so bad that I could hardly walk.

MsCFroggy
MsCFroggy December 9, 2012 at 10:18 pm   

I had been on gabapentin for many years, and it had always helped me. I had to go on Morphine for the pain with fibromyalgia and chronic back pain due to ruptured disc over top a 3 level fusion. I had maxed out on the dosage and had to come off of it and go to something new to work with the morphine. The new meds. don't help at all like the gaberpentin did, and I could eat the side out of the house now. I see doctor at pain clinic next week and I sure hope he can do something to help me control the pain and not to eat the house.

cslush68
cslush68 May 27, 2012 at 11:26 am   

I'm currently on Gabapentin and it's about the only thing that helps with my pain.

nana_1968
nana_1968 January 12, 2012 at 9:03 pm   

Hi, newbie here,just want to say, I take it along with Cymbala, and another strong pain pill but gabapentin works great for me, my doc's have tried to up it from 1800 mg to 2400mg a day and I just cant tolerate that much along with everything else I take. But it is just like any other medication, works for some and others it doesnt. When I first started I didnt think I could take it at all.They start you low and build you up,or at least that is how it is suppose to be done to see how much or even if you can tolerate it. I was dizzy and everything,but with being a nusre for years,I know meds of most kind take 2-4 weeks to even to begin to work like this and ususally the side effects go away. Mine went away after about a week. But like some people can tolerate it others cant, and works for some and others not.. Hope eveyone who tried it that it did work for,has found or finds what works for them best…

countrygal2345
countrygal2345 January 2, 2012 at 11:59 pm   

What are you taking the gabapentin for?

amyspeer
amyspeer December 15, 2011 at 11:39 am   

Gabapentin has worked somewhat it is starting to work a little better I believe.

countrygal2345
countrygal2345 November 2, 2011 at 8:35 pm   

It does not work the same on all of us. And some of us use it for other issues we have and it helps us with these other problems.

akawicce
akawicce October 27, 2011 at 10:30 pm   

my doctor had me on this in the beginning, and I've never been so miserable in my life. It's actually an off-label use to prescribe it for fibromyalgia, but the medical insurance people won't pay for Lyrica until they have seen that you've been on Neurontin and it didn't help. I couldn't make it long enough to satisfy them, and ended up not being able to get either drug. But I'd rather be in pain than take the Neurontin again. it was HIDEOUS.

Ironically, my stepmother takes it for her post-herpetic neuralgia (after shingles) and for her, it's a wonder drug. So it's very personal, I think it either works well, or not at all, no happy medium

countrygal2345
countrygal2345 October 8, 2011 at 4:36 pm   
Pros

Used to relieve nerve pain that is associated with Fibromyalgia.